IIT-Madras, DU, BHU among 14 institutes  to  get eminence tag

Anna University, IIT-Kharagpur and Hyderabad University are the other institutes to be granted this recognition

NEW DELHI : The Union government on Friday granted the institute of eminence (IoE) status to 14 more higher educational institutions, including Indian Institute of Technology, Madras; Shiv Nadar University and O.P Jindal Global University. The move allows these institutions greater academic, administrative and financial autonomy.

The ministry of human resource development (HRD) named seven private and an equal number public institutions for the IoE tag, following the approval of the University Grants Commission (UGC).

The government’s first list of institutions for the prestigious tag comprised six institutions, including Reliance Foundation’s yet-to-be-built Jio Institute, which had created a wide debate in the country.

“Since the (IoE) scheme has only provided for (10) public and (10) private institutions, the UGC has examined the list of (15) public and (15) private institutions using transparent and verifiable criteria,” the ministry said, explaining the reason behind the selection of only 20 institutes for the IoE status, while an expert panel had recommended 30.

While private institutes will enjoy the autonomy, public institutes in the list will also get an assistance of 1,000 crore each over a period of five years to improve their growth in India and in global rankings.

“Since the thrust of the scheme is to prepare institutions for the global rankings, no existing institution which has not figured in any of the global/national ranks shall be recommended for the institute of eminence status. Only after exhausting the above criterion, if any slot remains vacant, consideration shall be given to ‘yet to be established (greenfield)’ proposals,” the HRD ministry said, while naming one more green field institute proposed by the Satya Bharti Foundation for IoE recognition.

The private institutes, which have got the recognition are Shiv Nadar University (Uttar Pradesh), O.P. Jindal Global University (Haryana), Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham (Tamil Nadu), VIT Vellore (Tami Nadu), Jamia Hamdard, New Delhi, Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology (Bhubaneswar), and Bharti of the Satya Bharti Foundation in Delhi.

From the public sector, IIT-Madras, IIT-Kharagpur, Delhi University, University of Hyderabad, Jadavpur University (Kolkata), Anna University (Chennai) and BHU Varanasi were selected.

Last year, IIT-Bombay, IIT-Delhi, IISC Bangalore had received the IoE status.

Other than Jio Institute, BITS Pilani, Rajasthan, and Manipal Academy of Higher Education were granted the IoE tag.